The Week In and Out

image

Hello my dears, I hope I find you well. Thank you for your kind wishes for the Little Lady. Her spots are now clearing and normality has returned.

Do you like the yarn play that I enjoyed with my Little Man the other day? He is not the most enthusiastic artist/crafter but, with a bit of encouragement, we have some lovely sessions together. I am planning on creating a spider to live in his colourful web so it can hang in his bedroom.

image

There are times when I get myself in a tizzy about this blog, planning posts, not writing them and then ending up stressing so I am hoping that this post clears a backlog. The last fortnight has been a busy mix of mundane, comfortable at home time (the in of the title) and merry outings here and there, picnicking with family and friends. Bits and pieces that make for messy posts but are a truthful reflection of everyday life. My latest obsession, Instagram, is a wonderful outlet for these moments but I still love writing my blog. If you’re on there please come and say hello @rosy_hill!

image

On Bank Holiday Monday we had a magical day out at one of our favourite places, Shugborough. I have taken you there beforeΒ hereΒ if you want to look around butΒ on Monday it was a relaxed, family affair that centred around the little people and the picnic!

image

It makes me so happy to see the joy my Little Man gets out of life’s simple pleasures. Chasing a ball around. Picking dandelion clocks.

image

Bless him.

image

Another wonderful moment from last weekend was creating these little beauties. So simple, so effective, so delicious and so much fun! I have never used YouTube videos to cook from before but these worked out really well. Check it out here.

image

Served warm with a blob of ice-cream they made quite a spectacular dessert!

image

Today we are down in Kent with family and we took a trip to Riverhill Himalayan Gardens. We timed the visit well with the woods being carpeted with bluebells. What a smell!

image

The little people had a wonderful time and the weather was kind to us. It only rained a little bit and the sun even came out to say hello.

image

The Little Man was here, there and everywhere…

image

…even getting up close and personal with the sculptures! I took so many pictures of the flowers, the views, the art but mostly it was pretty overcast and they just don’t do justice to the beauty of nature. Trust me, we shall be visiting again!

image

Finally, we have been busy setting up the garden for the summer. Seeds have been planted, bushes have been mulched and some dubious seed potatoes have been plunged into the ground with fingers crossed! I hope to have some more to show you soon when things get going.

Thank you so much if you have made it to the end of my musings. Flicking through it all looks pretty bright and colourful so I shall leave you with a reminder that we’ve had the rain and clouds too, we’ve just carried on regardless! πŸ™‚

image

3 Comments

Filed under Crochet, Desserts, Gardening, Recipes, Trips and outings

3 responses to “The Week In and Out

  1. Isobel

    Lovely post with gorgeous pictures! That apple rose really was one of the most beautiful puddings I’ve ever had πŸ™‚ xxx

  2. quilt32

    As always, the pictures are wonderful. I’ve never lived in an area where I could see bluebells. I would love to see some blooming some day.

  3. The edible roses look amazing, the bluebells too, there is something so special about the carpet of flowers they create in the woodland. Sharon x

We always love to hear from you so please leave a comment below. x

