Curry Comfort

image

Good evening all, I hope this post finds you well. I was all set to do a ta-da post for a couple of pieces tonight but I am frankly just too tired to find the words. Illness has struck again as it is now the turn of Little Lady to be blighted by chickenpox. The poor little lamb is covered in spots, much more than her brother was. Luckily she does not seem to be overly unwell, just incredibly itchy.

image

For the past few days I have therefore given myself over to a lot of sofa snuggles. She is a bit restless, waking regularly from her naps and needing extra comfort so I have kept her close by, resigning myself to a few days of films and crochet (well that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it!).

image

I have taken the opportunity to resurrect a long forgotten project, my Summer Garden Throw. Using Lucy’s (Attic24) Summer Garden Granny Square this blanket is a colour bonanza and I am loving every minute of it.

image

Yesterday I did manage to rouse myself from our cosy nest to create a rather delicious Carrot, Tomato and Lentil Soup. (Simply softened onions and garlic with paprika, salt and tomato puree with chopped carrots, tomatoes, red lentils and parsley).

image

And today I took some time out to cook up a batch of comforting vegetable curry from Be Healed, Be Healthy, Be Happy. I absolutely love this recipe and, best of all, it’ll fill my stock pot with enough for 2 meals for the three of us and 3 lunches for me. The only real changes I make are using swede instead of butternut squash (cheaper and quicker to prepare) and adding a tonne of coriander (1 tbsp ground and as much fresh as I can get my hands on). I also only use 1 can of coconut milk, making up the difference with water.
Anyways, I have just fed and resettled the Little Lady so I am going to take the opportunity to grab as much sleep as possible until she stirs again.

Enjoy your weekend. πŸ™‚

7 Comments

Filed under Baby, Crochet, Recipes

7 responses to “Curry Comfort

  1. Poor little girl, I hope she soon feels a lot better. Apparently chickenpox is supposed to be worse if you catch it from a sibling. Not sure why. Enjoy your crochet time πŸ™‚ The blanket looks really cheerful.

  2. quilt32

    I’m so sorry you’ve had a bout of chicken pox at your house. The picture of the baby is precious – hope she gets over this very quickly. I’m going to check out the recipe for the curry – sounds wonderful.

  3. I like recipes like this – just the basics and adjust to your own tastes. And I LOVE 😍 the blanket! I crocheted my ‘Nanny McPhee’ blanket with my daughter asleep on my shoulder (she was only about 7 weeks old when I started), but sadly I have to wait for nap time now – she’s too curious about what I’m doing and that spells disaster!

    • Yes, any recipe that is flexible to what I have in the cupboard is good for me! I love the bedroom in Nanny McPhee! Those blankets are amazing. Yes, I agree – young children and balls of wool spell disaster!

We always love to hear from you so please leave a comment below. x

