How Do You Like Your Eggs in the Morning?

Poached Eggs

We eat a lot of eggs in this house. They’re cheap, easy, versatile and healthy. Weekend breakfasts often consist of scrambled or fried eggs. This week I had a sudden yearning for poached eggs. Quick as they are to make, there is something about them that makes them feel like holiday fodder. A treat.

Eggs Poaching

The secret to poached eggs is the vinegar. Two teaspoons in the water and something magical happens – instead of a mess of blobby rubber, the whites remain smooth and round.

Poached Eggs

I used to boil my eggs for 3 minutes but, since reading Lucy’s ‘Egg Poaching Knowhow‘, I now gently pour the eggs into boiling water before leaving them, off the heat, to gently cook for 5 minutes. Perfect!

Poached Eggs

Soft, white and just ready for eating. Tuck in!

Poached Eggs

4 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Recipes

4 responses to “How Do You Like Your Eggs in the Morning?

  1. quilt32

    I don’t eat a lot of eggs, but I wouldn’t be able to resist a beautiful plate full of your eggs.
    Lillian

  2. Isobel James

    Wow they look incredible! They do look like pretty jellyfish in the partly-cooked picture! Xxx

    • Isobel

      I’ve just made poached eggs for the first time ever following your methodโ€ฆamazing!! I don’t think I’ve ever even tried poached eggs?! Loved them; the way the yolk just oozes goodness onto the toast mmm – perfectly cooked ๐Ÿ™‚ xxx

  3. Oh mercy, these breakfast images look divine….let me wipe the drool off my faceโ˜บ

We always love to hear from you so please leave a comment below. x

