Crochet Mood Blanket – Week 4

Crochet Mood Blanket 2014

Good evening all, Tuesday’s here again – time to join Hazel’s link party and update on my Crochet Mood Blanket. Boy is it getting big! Already longer than I am and still 4 more triangles to attach. Hey ho, it’ll be a weighty finished item. I always like to veer on the side of caution as I worry things will be too small – this is why I do not sew!

I am looking forward to some sunny Spring snaps so that you can see the true colours as they are much more vivid, but also softer, than these images imply. I love the fact that I would not choose these colours for a blanket but they work so well. I do miss my yellows and browns but I do not feel ‘yellow’ so it cannot appear in my mood blanket. As I have discovered that the weather affects what colour I ‘feel like’ on any given day, brown may start creeping in during the course of the year.

Crochet Mood Blanket 2014

It has been a revelation that I feel so pink for positive days full of family and friends, whereas the working week tends to lean towards various shades of purple depending on stress levels. Beige and greys are for those dark, Winter days, although they do not necessarily imply a dip in mood, just weather conditions! The blues come out when the sun is shining and my mood soars – finding myself outside for at least part of the day definitely lifts my spirits, even if it is just for P.E.. My moss-green day stands out as when I felt most connected to nature this year at the Birmingham Nature Centre (read about it here), though I envisage more green creeping in as the trees begin to leaf. The colours definitely dulled to match my mood towards the end of last week so I am pleased to see the brighter shades return as I regain the spring in my step.

If you are taking part in the Mood Blanket 2014 party, please leave a comment so that I can see how yours is coming on.

Back soon! x

7 Comments

Filed under Blanket

7 responses to “Crochet Mood Blanket – Week 4

  1. Lovely progress! I’m finding that my thinking and emotional processing are really changing when I combine them with my mood blanket production. It’s like I’m behaving differently so my blanket can capture happier emotions than more negative ones.

  2. You have such a variety of colours, its good to see those sunny squares in there!!

  3. Bec

    It’s looking great! I hope to post a January update on mine in the next few days 🙂

  4. I have a question for you…how did you pick between doing crochet and knitting for your craft endeavor? I am wanting to pick up one of these and having a hard time picking between the two.

    • Hello, sorry for the late reply! I can knit a little bit but I picked crochet because it grows much quicker (which is gratifying!) and is much easier to correct when you go wrong/are not concentrating. It’s also easier to put down and pick up again if you are like me and keep everything in big bags to carry around (I’d drop all of my stitches in knitting!). If you want to make things like clothes, I think knitting is much more flexible but crochet is lovely for blankets. You can make kids toys/teddies using either. Hope this helps. xxx

  5. Your blanket is looking wonderful, and the colours work so well together! I have finally caught up with mine, having started late due to the late arrival of my yarn order!

We always love to hear from you so please leave a comment below. x

