Seeking Comfort

Lake

Good evening all! I hope you are well. I have been missing my regular postings and did not want to end the weekend without popping by. If I am honest, this last week has been rather difficult, stressful and exhausting. Things have been getting on top of me; my work seems to have become unmanageable and housework just non-existent. There has also been rather a lot of guilt as I have felt rather ineffectual as a wife and mother, even staying late at work a couple of evenings. All in all, I amΒ seeking some equilibrium and intend to get things back on track.

Little Helper

Stage one of the recovery plan was some theraputic domesticity. Providing healthy, homemade food for my family makes me feel good and, as we do not keep in many ready made options, last minute baking is a regular necessity (especially when meal planning has gone somewhat awry). Today’s cooking was especially exciting as, not only did I have a little helper to test the ingredients,Β it gave me the opportunity to test my birthday new book – Paul Hollywood’s ‘How to Bake‘. As lunch was due on the table in under an hour, there really was only one choice of loaf – soda bread. It is amazing that four simple ingredients (wholemeal flour, bicarbonate of soda, salt and buttermilk) can combine to create something so delicious. A great success and I look forward to trying more Hollywood recipes in the near future.

Soup and Soda Bread

The bread was served with my take on the traditional Brocolli and Stilton. As we had no brocolli, it became pea and courgette. Not wholly sure that this was an improvement as these ingredients do lack the flavour of brocolli but it was cheap, healthy and was enjoyed by everyone so no worries.

Anyway, I must dash now but I am ending the weekend with positive thoughts for the week ahead. I hope that you are managing to keep life balanced and are concentrating on the positives. Back soon! πŸ™‚

4 Comments

Filed under Bread, Dinner

4 responses to “Seeking Comfort

  1. Balance – sometimes so elusive!!! Sounds like you’re finding your way back to yours. What a lovely, positive post. Have a great week πŸ™‚

  2. I hope you find some balance soon – I think mother’s guilt exists no matter what path you choose :/ Love soda bread – yours looks yummy! x

  3. quilt32

    The soup and chunk of soda bread look delicious on that beautiful plate.
    Lillian

  4. KatelynnRachelle

    I can totally relate to that feeling. Great job channeling your stress into a constructive outlet!

We always love to hear from you so please leave a comment below. x

