Crochet Mood Blanket 2014

Crochet Mood Blanket
Hello my dears, I hope you are all well. Not the best quality photo tonight but exciting none the less – crochet has returned to Rosy Hill! Whoop whoop.

These hooky triangles are the start of something new and exciting. During my blog surfing at the weekend, I happened upon a post entitled ‘Crochet Mood Blanket 2014’ on the lovely Lanas de Ana. She was describing a crochet challenge that had started on the 1st of January where participants have to make one granny square every day (or every week) in a colour that matches his or her mood that day. The idea originated on Instagram with an invite from @mummy_stacey and has since grown and grown. Well, ‘how exciting!’ I thought. I would love to be a part of that!

My brain immediately went into overdrive as I began planning what form my blanket would take. The whole drive back from Kent was consumed with my ideas. In the end, I have gone for simple granny squares but with a twist – the squares will be arranged in rows as diamonds. To create a rectangular shape, there would need to be a row of triangles along the edges.

Obviously, I had already missed the start date so I have decided that this is my ‘twelfth Night’ blanket. That means that my rows will begin on a Sunday and extend for a fortnight. For me, this is an advantage as I found the idea of my weeks starting on a Wednesday quite displeasing so all’s well that ends well.

I have so much that I want to tell you about my plans for this blanket but now is not the time. My bed is calling and I need to give my brain the chance to prepare for another busy day. I will just end with an acknowledgement that there is every possibility that at some time this project becomes incompatible with the demands of everyday life and things begin to unravel (excuse the pun). However, the road to hell is paved with good intentions and one has to aim high!

Bis morgen!

5 Comments

Filed under Blanket, Crochet

5 responses to “Crochet Mood Blanket 2014

  1. quilt32

    How wonderful to begin a new project. I haven’t found anything yet that I want to start. Maybe tomorrow I will find it.
    Lillian

  2. Isobel

    We’re never going to get our blanket are we…??!! 😉 This sounds and looks lovely. I don’t quite get it so I look forward to seeing where this goes. I said to my hubby last night that I was sad cos I didn’t think you’d be able to do a post tonight, and now this – yay! Love you x

  3. Oh I think it will be really interesting how your blanket will turn out, it is amazing all the different patterns people are using! I like how you are extending your 365 days into next year…though I think many people will definitely not have it finished by 31st December!

    Thank you for linking your post on my blog!!

  4. Mommy

    If you have another job to be done, give it to a busy woman! You shall need to keep a note of the moods for each bit as you’ll never remember in October! Look forward to watching it progress.xx

We always love to hear from you so please leave a comment below. x

