Snowy Snapshots

image

Hello my dears, it has been lovely to see so many of you around here lately. Firstly, thank you so much for your kind birthday wishes. I am still celebrating with tea and cake of an afternoon!

image

Like so many people at the moment I am spending an inordinate amount of time gazing at the snowy landscape. On Sunday that was the view out of what was once my bedroom window at my parents’ house. So much snow! A Winter playground!

image

It has been a dramatic week weatherwise. We began with Monday‘s brief smattering of snow but that lasted no time at all.

image

For the rest of the week there was a hard frost underfoot whilst grey clouds hung in the sky. I revel in the ever changing view across my lake but, it has to be said, it was looking pretty grim.

image

However we did have this rather charming fellow to brighten the view and accompany us on our afternoon stroll.

image

Things changed as the week progressed and, by Friday morning, the snow had begun in earnest and, soon, the ground was covered.

image

Exciting as this was, I have to admit, the view was still looking a trifle dull.

image

Those of you for whom Winter usually means several months of snow covered ground may be slightly bemused by the sudden explosion of wintery pictures flooding the blogosphere but here such weather is infrequent, short-lived and met with great excitement.

image

The Little Man has loved his trips out in the snow. Everything stands out against the white backdrop so he can easily see the dogs bounding around and the geese hissing at his ankles demanding food. He has also spent a lot of time marvelling the swirling flakes through the window.

image

Sunday saw even more snow fall and everywhere was now covered in a thick, icy blanket.

Surprisingly I have found it rather difficult to snap the views across the road this week. I have come to discover that my lake photography revolves around two things: the sky and light, especially how the light plays upon the water. With the dense cloud cover my favourite vistas appeared dull and flat.

image

By Monday, I have to admit I was feeling a little low.

image

Imagine my excitement when I looked out of the window to be greeted by this:

image

Sunshine!

image

Light!

image

Sky!

image

Slinging the Little Man into the Ergo I practically ran across the road to soak up the rays.

image

My view was back!

image

This charming fellow came to say hello, probably excited that the lake was thawing before our very eyes.

image

Forgive me for the excessive number of photos but this is the only sun we have seen for over a week and it only lasted one, precious hour. I am trying to drink it in!

image

The reflections on the water were wonderful to see…

image

and the light illuminated snow, making it glisten as the shadows stretched across the ground.

image

Thank you for indulging my snowy snapshots. See you again soon! x

image

7 Comments

Filed under Snapshot, Trips and outings

7 responses to “Snowy Snapshots

  1. Hurray for the sun! I love the photo of the snowy branches with the sunshine lighting them up; snowy trees always make me happy! I’ll get that recipe for you πŸ™‚ Meredith x

  2. Lovely pictures! It’s amazing how much difference a bit of light makes, isn’t it? Those geese looked truly happy to have the lake back! x

  3. Amazing the difference the light makes! Lovely photos

  4. quilt32

    Great pictures even of the rather dull landscape. The sun and light really picked up everything as it does in our lives. I especially liked the picture of the geese coming toward you in the snow.
    Lillian

We always love to hear from you so please leave a comment below. x

