First Snow

image

Good evening all! As you can see, we have experienced our first snow of the season here today. Much as I love snow it was not really the sort to overly excite. Although the flakes were thick and fluffy the temperature’s too warm for it to stick around so the overall effect was generally grey and slushy – the sort of snow that will wet your feet and make you fall over rather than dazzle you with its beauty.
image

We returned from Edinburgh yesterday and it is lovely to be home, however wonderful our holiday was. Going away so soon after Christmas has made it seem like an extended festive period. We never had the whole ‘going back to work’ around New Year as people only went back for a day or two so it seems like ages since we’ve just been bumbling along in our normal little routines.
image

Even though there are bags lining the hall we did have rather a lazy day, lots of cuddles with the Little Man who has become used to being the centre of attention lately. I am secretly pleased to have him to myself for a bit, although everybody has been amazing and I’ve loved being able to leave the room knowing that there would always be somebody there to entertain him!
image

In fact, my only real achievement today has been to bake a rather marvellous new loaf – Pesto Bread. I usually make my own bread using the little packets that involve pouring the contents into the machine, add water and press go. All good and very predictable but I feel a desire to branch out a bit.

When I was a teenager I used to make a range of breads by hand but I don’t think that is going to happen at the moment. I am therefore going to expand my repertoire of machine loaves. Today I made a white loaf flavoured with 2 tbsp of red pesto and the results were delicious! Soft and tasty with so much flavour in the crust. As usual I made the smallest loaf on Rapid Bake, because I like the soft, light texture that this gives (although a longer bake would not be a problem). The recipe was:

400 g strong flour
1 sachet rapid dried yeast
1 tsp salt
1 tsp sugar
2 tbsp red pesto
Add to your bread machine in the order suggested and bake!

May have to make it with green pesto another time, just for fun!

What’s your favourite bread recipe?

Abigail x

3 Comments

Filed under Food

3 responses to “First Snow

  1. quilt32

    Personally, I would be happy if I never saw more snow than you had. Too often, I’m kept indoors by heavy snow that I’m afraid to walk or drive in.

    I don’t own a bread machine, but one daughter does and I’m going to pass this recipe on to her. I love the bread she makes in her machine.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  2. We had snow too, a bit more than you but still not enough to get excited about! Pesto bread is lovely πŸ™‚ I’ve just had a slice of rosemary toast with honey for breakfast, it’s wonderful! I recommend you try a loaf by hand again – it’s so easy and you get a better flavour! Otherwise try adding a good double handful of finely chopped fresh rosemary into your machine, together with a couple of tablespoons of olive oil. I can pass along my recipe if you want to try by hand πŸ™‚ happy new year by the way!

  3. I think that we might have had even less snow than that, it was hardly worth the effort really! Hope you get on top of all the suitcases soon, it’s the washing I always dread!!! Thanks for all your lovely comments the other day πŸ™‚ x

We always love to hear from you so please leave a comment below. x

