Souper Duper – Leek & Sweet Potato

image

Snuggled down enjoying the final slices of last year’s Christmas cakes. Just clearing out before embarking on this season’s bake-athon. Cosy warmth on a chilly evening. Just need something little stronger to sip now.

Apologies for the title of this post. I love a good pun, I love a bad pun. Hey ho. But I do have some soup related stories and recipes to dazzle you with. I have mentioned before that one of the Little Man’s favourite dishes is soup – delicious, nutritious, easy to eat and, ahem, is easy on the digestive system.

We work on a rough weekly rota in an attempt to avoid the ’empty your fridge into a pot and hope for the best’ style soup. One week I tend to whizz up a ‘red’ soup, (a selection of carrots, swede, peppers, a few fresh tomatoes, possibly a sweet potato or two and thickened with red lentils or yellow split peas and flavoured with tumeric and cumin or paprika) whilst the following week the soup is green (cabbage, kale, broccoli or spinach with white potatoes, herbs and possibly a few beans). All are made with a base of onions and garlic.

This week, however, I decided to create two soups that require a more specific recipe.

Everybody knows of Leek and Potato soup but my friend recently introduced me to Leek and Sweet Potato. Smooth, silky, tasty, I loved it. Having no recipe I just made it up and, I have to say, the results were delicious.
image

Leek and Sweet Potato Soup

In a pan, sweat 2 chopped onions and 3 garlic cloves, crushed.

Obviously vegetables vary greatly in size but ensure you include enough potato to obtain a silky texture. I used 3 large leeks and 6 medium sweet potatoes along with 3 carrots. Add these to the pan and cook for 5 minutes.

Add 2 tsp ground coriander and enough vegetable stock to just cover the vegetables. Boil for 20 minutes until everything is soft.

Blend until smooth then season to taste.

Of course, don’t forget the final touch:

image

Some fresh bread. Scrummy!

I hope you enjoy this recipe. Tomorrow I shall share the other with you tomorrow.

What’s your favourite soup?

5 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Food

5 responses to “Souper Duper – Leek & Sweet Potato

  1. quilt32

    The Leek and Sweet Potato Soup sounds very tempting. And the addition of coriander makes it even better. I want to try this one.

    Also like your ideas of a red soup one week and a green soup the next.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  2. That sounds yummy! I love soup. One of my Littlies favourites is red lentil soup – onions, garlic, celery, carrot, red lentils, tinned toms and stock. I’m always amazed that they eat it and it always makes me feel vaguely smug with all the veggies they’re getting!!!!! Loving the blanket in your first piccy x

  3. Just had leek and potato soup this evening, it’s my favourite 🙂 Your sweet potato version is intriguing – I will have to give it a go!!

We always love to hear from you so please leave a comment below. x

