Hex Machine

Aw, just look at him, isn’t he gorgeous?! (Slightly bias, I know). Thought I’d put a little toothy smile up to greet you all.

I hope you’ve all had a marvellous weekend. The Little Man and I had a wonderful time visiting lovely friends. Good company, good food, good times had by all.

It’s so lovely to be here even if my blogging has been a little sporadic over the last few weeks. I have to admit that I haven’t quite been in the right head space as we’ve had a rather dramatic sleep relapse due to teething and a cold. Poor Little Man. We had just managed to encourage him to sleep through and we had enjoyed more than a fortnight of blissful, uninterrupted sleep before it all went topsy-turvy. Ah well, we’ll get back into good habits when he’s all well again and he finally has top teeth!

However, that is not the only reason for my lack of blogging action over the last week or so. At the end of October I made a resolution to pick up a bit of speed with my Patchwork Granny Blanket CAL and, indeed, I am pleased to announce that I have been true to my word.

After speeding ahead creating a large pile of hexagons still attached to the yarn, I took advantage of an extra long nap time to make a colour plan.

I am far too uptight to work randomly – it would draw my eye to have a colour twice in the same row/column or to have the same pattern repeated. No, no. Planned disorder in my blankets, thank you very much.

Balls of Stylecraft were spread merrily across the carpet before quickly being bundled away before the Little Man could get his chubby little mitts on them!

Then came the fun part. In spare minutes I grabbed the blanket and completed the last five sides of a hexagon.

Day by day, night by night it grew and grew. So exciting!

This is where it is at now:

I am totally in love with this blanket in all its crazy, multicoloured glory. I spend many an hour gazing at it, choosing my favourite flower. It changes daily with my mood.

I haven’t really made much progress over the last week as I have been experimenting with another little project but there’s no rush! Hope to have something to show about that soon.

What’re you hooking up at the moment? xxxx

6 Comments

Filed under Blanket, Crochet

6 responses to “Hex Machine

  1. Oooh I love those hexagons! I have some hexagons of my own at the moment but they are patchwork not crochet. Still lovely though! They are for a very secret project that I can’t blog about! But hope to have it finished for a Christmas present so will blog photos then!!! xxx

  2. quilt32

    If it were up to me, all of your posts would contain many pictures of Little Man – the rosy cheeks, the wisps of blonde hair, the tiny teeth! The youngest in our family is 5 years old now (a great-grandchild) – I miss seeing those babies.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

    • Ah, that’s good to hear! He is just gorgeous though. It’s funny how families go through phases – one minute there are babies everywhere then there are none. Children are wonderful at any age but there is something special about babies. 🙂
      Abigail x

  3. I don’t know how you do it, the colours and the arrangement fits so well that it’s simply gorgeous! Planned disorder indeed! 😀

We always love to hear from you so please leave a comment below. x

