Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah

My oh my it is chilly around here at the moment. There have been plenty of evenings spent snuggling under my Ripple Blanket for warmth whilst working on my hexagons.

My mother bought us a pack of lebkuchen, our first of the year. I do love these biscuits. They just scream cosiness – some sweet and spicy warmth to see you through the Winter months. They remind me of childhood as I remember eating them at our friends house when we were younger. We used to visit them every Sunday after Church and their mom would always bring out some sort of biscuits or chocolates to feed us all. Sometimes homemade buns or Welsh cakes, other times packets of Wagon Wheels, Tea Cakes or, around Christmas, lebkuchen or mince pies.

My mother does not understand snacking – she is the sort of person who would take out a box of chocolates and just eat one. We rarely ate between meals and never had more than one or two biscuits. Here though we were allowed to have two, three or even four biscuits. Oh the excitement! However I am grateful to my mom for teaching me some restraint. Although I could never eat just one teeny chocolate, I can stop at two or three so that a box lasts for a week, not just a day.

I really should try to make my own lebkuchen for Christmas this year. I’ve never tries before. Does anybody know of a good recipe?

I do enjoy a slice of something sweet and tasty with my afternoon cuppa though and this week it has been this rather attractive carrot cake. I will be returning to this cake soon as there is a story behind it so, if you fancy having a nibble yourself, fear not, I shall post the recipe soon (made it up myself, I did!).

Thank you so much for indulging my last post. I am pleased to announce that I have managed to quieten my mind and am feeling full of beans, hence the title of this post. I sound quite hysterical, up and down like a yo-yo. I am not unbalanced, honestly, just a little enthusiastic sometimes. I like to indulge in the feeling of the moment!

It’s been pretty busy around here and I have a lot of pictures to share so hopefully you should be hearing a lot from Rosy Hill this week! I have a crochet update, a day trip, cakey news and, most exciting, a Halloween party to tell you all about.

This last event required a costume. After quite a lot of dithering I decided on an outfit which necessitated a pom-pom.

More specifically, a red pom-pom. Can you guess who I went as?!

I haven’t made one of these for years and, I have to say, I really enjoyed it! Very soothing. So much so that I got a bit carried away and the quality of the final result somewhat exceeded the what was required – that is one substantial pom-pom! Over 1/3 of a ball of Stylecraft DK in Matador (1010).

I have really enjoyed talking to you today – my blogging voice has returned and I have found myself able to waffle on with ease. So much to show you, I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Ta ta for now! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

p.s. I had to create a new category to file this post under – Waffle. Is that bad do you think?!

4 Comments

Filed under Waffle

4 responses to “Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah

  1. quilt32

    I also love lebkuchen. In 1990, we visited the Christmas markets in Austria and Germany – lots of lebkuchen. What I’m really interested in, though, is the carrot cake.

    I think “waffle” is an excellent category.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

    • Thank you! Leaving it uncategorised just goes against my nature.
      My mother is visiting the Christmas markets again this year. One day I shall join her. I would like to eat lebkuchen at Christmas actually in Germany!
      I shall be sure to tell you all about the carrot cake soon! 🙂

  2. Thanks for popping by and leaving me a comment, I did enjoy my peaceful candlelit night! Love that you’re making the pom pom the proper way – with cardboard! 🙂

    S x

We always love to hear from you so please leave a comment below. x

