It’s all a matter of balance

The above picture has nothing to do with this post is meant to be about but I just Had to show you the amazing new towels that my mother bought us. Don’t you just love them?! They’re my special crochet towels – they make me want to start whipping up rainbow granny stripes now! So wonderful. I smile everytime I use them. Who doesn’t love a good towel fest?! My mom’s actually quite obsessed with towels but cannot fit any more in her house. If this means that she has to buy me more of these beauties to get her fix then all’s good – whatever makes her happy! 

Anyway, let’s consider getting to the point, shall we?

I realise that so far sweet treats have featured quite heavily in this blog (see here, here and here). Now I would be the first person to admit that I am quite a fan of a slice of cake or a bit of chocolate with my morning/afternoon/evening cuppa but I try to maintain a good balance in my eating habits. I love cooking and like to prepare a fresh, healthy evening meal when I can be bothered time allows. There are usually 3 main considerations when preparing dinner: quick to prepare, cheap (my maternity pay is reducing every month) and healthy (I really am working hard to loose the baby weight, believe it or not!).

I have my favourites, meals that I prepare time and time again, but sometimes I like to try something new. Last Tuesday was one of those days. I love lasagne but do not make it very often because of the time of preparation, the cost of ingredients and the calorie count (meat, cheese sauce, pasta = diet buster!). It is a Special Occasion Dinner. On Tuesday, however, I had a yearning for layers of flat pasta – the appearance of lasagne without the rich, calorific meat and cheese sauce. I raided the fridge and put it together to make a mushroom and spinach lasagne – I am going to name it Abigail’s Light Lasagne. Cheap, healthy and quick to prepare (it was in the oven by the time little one had been bathed and dressed!).

Spinach and Mushroom Lasagne (serves 2)

Fry 2 chopped onions until soft. Add 250g sliced mushrooms, season and cook on high for 5 mins. Stir in 2 crushed garlic cloves for a further 2 mins.

Rinse 100g spinach with boiling water to blanche it.

In a separate dish, pour boiling water over 6 sheets of lasagne and leave for 5 mins to soften. Drain.

Lay half of the pasta on the bottom of an ovenproof dish then spread the filling over it. Top with the spinach then cover with the remaining lasagne.

Beat 1 egg and whisk into 250g yoghurt. Season and pour over the pasta. Sprinkle a little cheese over the top.

Bake in a moderate oven for 30 mins.

Serve with a side salad and enjoy!

This dinner was given the thumbs up by hubby who thought it was cheesy (the topping reminded him of creamy ricotta) – not faint praise from a cheese fanatic. Let me know if you try the recipe – maybe you could try a different filling depending what you have in your fridge? Do you have any ‘light alternatives’ to family favourites? xxxxx

2 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Food

2 responses to “It’s all a matter of balance

  1. quilt32

    This sounds wonderful. I particularly love spinach and onions. My daughter and I are trying to cut back on calories right now and this would be ideal.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

    • Yes, onions are good to bulk out any dish cheaply and healthily! Good luck with your ‘light’ meals but enjoy your Peanut Butter treats too! 🙂

      Abigail

We always love to hear from you so please leave a comment below. x

