Elmer Blanket

As someone who finds great pleasure and satisfaction in hooking a variety of yarns into pretty, colourful shapes a baby means one thing – baby blankets! (By the way, apologies for the wrinkled bedding. I do not iron, especially not sheets!)

After an initial dabble into oh-so-cute crochet bootie production I quickly realised that I was not interested in creating baby clothing. For those of you who may be, this pattern came from a rather delightful book called ‘Cute & Easy Crochet’ by Nicki Trench. It is a gorgeous book full of wonderful hooky products, although I admit I spend more time gazing at the scrumminess within than actually creating the products.  Adorable as this bootie is, it still does not have a pair. I just spent the rest of my pregnancy staring at it and exclaiming ‘awwwww’!

It was definitely blankets that I was interested in. I had a yearning to wrap my little one in soft, colourful drapes that I had created myself. Work, Ofsted and pregnancy lethargy did not leave time for mass production but the arrival of maternity leave gave me the opportunity to put ideas into action.

The lovely Heather of Little Tin Bird was in the middle of one of her baby blanket phases, whipping up a trio of woolly delights for her friends who were expecting. Unfortunately I cannot compete with her incredible hooking speed so I had to choose one design to attempt. As soon as I saw it I fell in love with her gorgeous Elmer blanket. Afterall, what better inspiration for people who love colour than Elmer?

This blanket is made up of solid granny squares crocheted together at the end (Heather has written a wonderful tutorial here if you fancy whipping up some colourful blocks yourself). The dense nature of these blocks has proved to be useful as it helps prevent busy little fingers and toes getting caught.

Having collected quite a healthy stash of Stylecraft Special DK, I chose 12 colours and created 6 blocks of each. As each square is a single colour, this blanket is relatively quick and easy with minimal colour changing and weaving in of ends. Perfect!

Once a pile of rainbow coloured squares had accumulated I laid them out, trying to spread the colours evenly, and photographed the final design for reference. 

I have never crocheted blocks together before but found the process of whizzing along the edges very theraputic. Lucy of Attic 24 has a superb tutorial for Joining Granny Squares, clear and concise as always, which made the process simple and stress free. I chose to copy Heather’s idea of using the bright red to join. This is mainly visible from the back but I love the way the vibrant colour peeks through at the corners.

I think that this blanket’s overall charm is its simplicity. The blocks of unfussy, solid colour are so effective that I did not want the border to detract from this so I chose to keep the edging simple with a row of  UK treble crochet followed by a row of double crochet. Unfortunately, I misjudged the number of stitches needed and inexperience meant that I did not spot the problem until I had almost finished the second row. Bowing to pressure from others I left it as it was but it still niggles everytime I look at those crinkly edges. Ah well, live and learn!

However, when I just look at the colours it makes me smile. And of course, most importantly, the blanket being put to good use.

This was my first completed crochet blanket and I admit, I LOVE it! So let’s indulge in a bit more blanket loving. It looks good with spots…

…and stripes.

The baby I made snuggling into the blanket I made. Awww!

Blanket Stats:

Yarn: Stylecraft Special DK

1065 : meadow 
1316 : spring green 
1003 : aster 
1019 : cloud blue 
1068 : turquoise 
1188 : lavender 
1034 : sherbert 
1061 : plum 
1390 : clematis  
1132 : shrimp  
1246 : lipstick 
1081 : saffron 
1020 : lemon  
1246 : lipstick (border)

Hook: 4mm (G)

Pattern: Little Tin Bird’s Solid Granny/Elmer Squares

Size: 90 x 60 cm (12 x 8 squares)

Edging: UK tr, UK dc

16 Comments

Filed under Baby, Blanket, Crochet

16 responses to “Elmer Blanket

  1. Ooh that’s such a lovely blanket! Well done 🙂

  2. Such a beautiful blanket! Kudos on finishing a great project! I haven’t yet crocheted in blocks before, but I’d love to try it out!

  3. Lynn

    I love this pattern !! Your colors turned out beautifully !! I also used Heathers pattern although I haven’t completed mine yet 😦 I have a VERY bad habit of jumping around on projects 😦 😦 Yours turned out lovely !!!

    • Thank you! I enjoyed these squares as they’re relatively quick and simple. Good luck with yours!
      I know what you mean – I found it helpful to have a deadline for my baby blankets but I am currently working on finishing off some of my half-done projects. Will hopefully be able to show more on here soon, 🙂

  4. Sandra

    What a beautiful blanket, it’s gorgeous love al those happy, bright colours!

    S x

  5. Vicki

    Hi Abi. Just wanted to say a big thank you to your Dad for sending me the link to your blog. I keep losing track of time reading all about your many artistic endeavors! I felt the need to comment on this because I feel a personal attachment in two ways. Firstly we have an Elmer in Roxie’s room and the books of the stories and I just love the blanket, and secondly because we too have spots and stripes. Hope you are all well. Vicki x

    • Hello! It is dangerous – one blog leads to another and time disappears! I think we’ll have to get the stories as well so we can share the blanket’s inspiration. We had the spots and stripes in two sizes because we loved them so much.
      Best wishes to you and Roxie,
      Abigail x

  6. The blanket is heavenly 🙂 And I also don’t iron sheets. In fact, I don’t iron anything and can’t remember where my iron actually lives… !!!

  7. Pingback: Little Ellie | littleohlaydeeme

  8. Pingback: Little Ellie! | littleohlaydeeme

  9. Maureen

    Hi
    Love your blanket, and am currently working on my own. It’s my first crochet of any kind.
    Can you tell me what you mean by you misjudged the number of stitches needed in the border. Any help would be appreciated.
    Thank you
    Maureen

    • Thank you! This is probably rather irrelevant now but it doesn’t lie straight as there are too many stitches. I needed to do 2 stitches together where the squares join then probably more stitches in the corner. I knew it wasn’t right so I should have just stopped and started again! Good luck with your crochet, Abigail

We always love to hear from you so please leave a comment below. x

