Love food, hate when my freezer breaks down!

So my freezer broke down. Forget the fact that it isn’t even five years old. Forget the fact that  not 4 moths ago I had a special plug point wired into the garage in my new house for the specific use of the freezer. Forget the fact that I paid an electrician £100 to do this. It broke, the floor got wet, the food defrosted. Get over it, it happened, its done.

But now I have all this food to save. Most of it is done for – I wouldn’t touch a defrosted prawn to save my life, not that such a thing could save my life, nor would it have any incentive to try since it is already dead itself, and probably jealous of my still breathing status. the sausages, however, look ok, so since I cannot afford to scrap perfectly good food, I have decided to cook and refreeze them in the form of a pasta sauce.

Recipe I just made up:

1 pack of newly defrosted sausages that you don’t want to eat just yet

1 garlic clove, crushed

1 red pepper

1 red onion

1 white onion

2 tbsps tomato puree

1 tbsp ketchup

2 tsps mediterranean spice mix (I use Australian Bush Mix from Oil and Vinegar, and think its wonderful, but any mix will do – even just mixed herbs)

4 tbsps cold water

Directions:

De-skin all eight sausages and form into meatballs, then add to deep frying pan or wok with a teaspoon of oil. Sausages have so much fat in them that you don’t need any more than this. Brown meatballs for three to four minutes, then strain off as much fat as you want to.

Roughly chop the pepper and onions, leaving the pieces as large as the meatballs, and add to the frying pan along with the garlic. Leave to simmer for about twenty minutes. Mix the Bush mix with the water and also leave this for about twenty minutes. Add the tomato puree and ketchup to the mixture, along with the bush mix mixture.  Stir.

image

Leave until completely cold (best to decant the sauce into a bowl, cover, and place in the fridge), then spoon into a freezer bag and freeze. When you are ready, serve with whatever you want, although I favour penne pasta and lots of cheese.

Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes

2 responses to “Love food, hate when my freezer breaks down!

  1. Aww that’s terrible! But this recipe looks great so at least something positive came out of the disaster!

  2. Abigail

    That looks so yummy, sausages!!! Yey! Is your freezer sorted now?

We always love to hear from you so please leave a comment below. x

