Blossoming Monkey Nuts!

I cannot quite express the excitement I felt as I got home today. Walking up the drive I could see a flash of colour in my window…

A few months ago, my mom gave me a present of a few sprouting monkey nuts. I dutifully planted my little peanuts into a pot of soil but not much happened. However, wrapping the pot in a polythene bag and leaving them on a sunny windowsill boosted their growth and, before I knew it, pretty little green leaves started appearing.

 

Slowly they grew and grew until there were four, bushy plants sitting in the sun. Happy days!

The theory goes that, when the peanut plant has matured, little, yellow flowers will appear. These will quickly wilt before a stem will appear from out of the curled up blossom. Gravity will then cause this to bury into the soil where the monkey nut will grow. Now, peanuts thrive in a hot, humid climate which does not exactly match with central England so my efforts have been met with some scepticism! So, imagine my excitement when I spy that speck of yellow blossom from afar. Yes, my peanut plant has its FIRST FLOWER!

 

I know my plants are relatively small and I have no idea if anything will come of them, but if I get one peanut from this adventure I will be so happy!

Have any of you tried this before? Let me know about your experiences!

8 Comments

Filed under Gardening

8 responses to “Blossoming Monkey Nuts!

  1. isobel

    i am very excited for you 🙂 beautiful little flower! x

  2. Abigail

    Hehe, thank you! I was literally squealing with excitement. Fingers crossed for a peanut now! xxx

  3. Gosh, that’s a novelty. Never saw one.

  4. Abigail

    I know, I didn’t think it would be so easy. The test now is whether I actually get a peanut by the end of the Summer!

  5. Lynn

    I know this is an older post, I had to laugh at the title as I never heard of this before ! It’s a pretty plant & the yellow little flower is really pretty !! Is this a regular peanut or a specific type of nut or seed ??? I would LOVE to try this myself !! Did you ever get any peanuts from your plant ???

    • They were wonderful and we got loads of peanuts from them!

      All you need is a raw peanut (they’re still in their shells) which you can buy from greengrocers or probably health food shops. You then need to leave in a warm, moist environment to encourage germination – I left them in a plastic food bag on a radiator but a warm, sunny windowsill would probably do it.

      When the seeds have sprouted, plant them up and leave them in a hot, sunny place. I was so impressed! 🙂

  6. Ali

    A squirrel burried a monkey nut in a flower pot out in the garden, at then due to the cold weather i brought my flower pot inside . To my surprise something started to grow . I dug around it and realised it was a monkey nut growing. I was so excited and after seeing yours i wait with anticipation to seee what happens to mine.

We always love to hear from you so please leave a comment below. x

