Oxtail Stew and Cornflake Tart

Hello there! My dad has been asking for a Cornflake Tart for a long time. Whereas I too remember this dessert from school, I did not harbour such fond memories. However, being Father’s Day, I thought I would oblige his wishes and I am extremely happy that I did! So, here goes…

Scrumptious Oxtail Stew

Now, this is a stew so all the ingredients are somewhat flexible so feel free to substitute and add anything you happen to have in the fridge! This recipe serves 6 – 8 so adapt as necessary.

Take 2.5 – 3kg of oxtail, cut into chunks, and place it into a hot pan. Cook on each side until it looks all golden brown and delicious…

Take it out of the pan and pour in 250ml of red wine and simmer to reduce for 5 mins.

Now come the veges. Especially important in any stew is the onions and garlic, more the better I say! I used 6 onions and a bulb of garlic. Yummy!

For root vegetables I used 8 carrots and 5 parsnips cut into chunks.

Don’t they look lovely? In with these I added 4 bay leaves and 9 sage leaves (these can be added now but more delicate herbs can be stirred in near the end) and 3 litres of beef stock. Return the oxtail to the pan.

Thicken the stew by adding some cornflour or a roux (butter and flour melted, add water to make a paste and stir in).

Add this to the pan and stir occasionally until it is boiling. Add in Worcester sauce, sea salt and pepper to taste (don’t skimp on the seasoning). Tomato ketchup and brown sauce can also be used to add flavour.

Then comes the easy part. Put it in a cool oven (about 160° c) for 3.5 – 4 hours until meat is soft and falling off the bone.

When it’s all yummy, serve with horseradish mash and your choice of vegetables. Delicious!

Cornflake Tart from School Recipes

Well after any good dinner comes pudding. Do you remember this from school? As I was about to embark on the process it struck me… I currently do not own a flan ring. So I beg your forgiveness for the pie-y appearance of my tart but you can imagine how it would look!

Shortcrust pasty

180g flour

80g butter

The secret to any pastry is cold fat and handle as little as possible. If you own a food processer, the dough blade is ideal.

Rub the butter into the flour until it resembles breadcrumbs.

Using a knife, add water slowly until it is ready to be brought into a ball. Place in the fridge for 30 minutes to stand.

Roll out and place in the flan/tart dish. Prick the bottom and bake in a hot oven (180° c) for 20 mins.

Filling

100g jam

55g butter

30g sugar

110g syrup

85g cornflakes

When cooled slightly, spread the pastry base with jam (I used raspberry).

In a pan, melt the butter, sugar and syrup then stir in the cornflakes.

Bake the tart for a further 5 minutes and enjoy!

Please leave a comment if you try these or to let me know what you did for Fathers’ day!

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “Oxtail Stew and Cornflake Tart

  1. Rosy Hill

    Thank you, it was pretty tasty!

  2. isobel

    abi, you know i do harbour those fond memories of school’s treacle tart and, of course, you did not let me down … it was scrumptious, best ever!!

    and for all of you out there hesitant about the oxtail (trust me, i was like a whining child), try it, it was incredibly tasty 😉 x

We always love to hear from you so please leave a comment below. x

